Setting up your EstimatorXpress Backup Folder


The EstimatorXpress 2017 January update (v9.05) brings some major new features to EstimatorXpress including an automatic Backup Folder. There is also an option to make this a shared folder (used in conjunction with EstimatorXpress Live additional licences  - see information link at the bottom of this page for further information) which allows you to have access to the same estimates from multiple computers.


When you are using EstimatorXpress, the software saves your data into a folder on your local hard disk (usually your C: Drive).  Once you have configured your Backup Folder, each time you Close an estimate, the data is also saved to your Backup Folder.  You can set up this folder on an external hard drive, on a network, or use a cloud based service such as Dropbox, OneDrive or Google Drive.


In this video we show you how you can quickly set up a folder as an automatic Backup Folder.   


If you have EstimatorXpress Live licences using the Sharing option there are slightly different instructions here: Setting up your EstimatorXpress Backup AND Sharing Folder







Technical Notes regarding the Backup Folder


The  backup occurs when you click on the Close button from the Job Summary page in an estimate.  If your selected Backup Folder is not accessible at this time then the backup will not take place; your data will of course still be saved in the usual place on your hard disk.  If you go back into the same estimate at a later date and close it again when your Backup Folder IS accessible, the estimate will be backed up at that point with any changes that have taken place since the last time the estimate was backed up.  


When you set up your Backup Folder you should select somewhere that is separate from your computer (other wise it would be a pointless exercise).  The simplest option would be an external hard disk, or maybe a large USB memory stick. Using one of these means that they can be stored separate from your computer thus giving you a reasonable level of data security.  If the external hard disk is not connected when you close an estimate, it simply will not backup the changes.  If you then open the estimate again and close it once more whilst the hard disk IS connected, then the estimate will be backed up. 


Using a network folder is a good option as these tend to be on well supported devices which often have their own further backups.  The other option is to use a Cloud based backup solution such as Dropbox, OneDrive or Google Drive. The way these are usually configured is that they actually save the data onto your hard disk and then synchronise themselves with a cloud based backup copy.   This means that the backup can be done instantly by EstimatorXpress and your cloud solution will then synchronise the data up to the cloud when there is an internet connection.  Remember that you need to make sure your cloud backup solution is synchronising - this is not controlled in any way by EstimatorXpress and is purely a function of whichever cloud solution you are using.







Note for ProjectXpert Users


In ProjectXpert you can send the modified chart back to EstimatorXpress.  Once you have done this, you will need to go into EstimatorXpress. open the estimate in question and then close it.  This will save the modified chart to your backup folder.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.

Modified on: Wed, 11 Jan, 2017 at 9:58 AM